Portland Trip

Image

Image

My hair appointment was at the Akemi Salon with Stephanie. The salon was cozy and smelled wonderful. I was greeted by Stephanie as I walked in. I sat down, she asked what size I wanted my dreads, and we were on our merry way. Stephanie was very friendly and Cheyenne and I had so much fun talking to her. The entire process took less than two hours.

Stephanie has been interested in dreadlocks (and have had them at different times) for twenty years or so and has been doing dreadlocks professionally for about ten. She has an interesting method for starting dreads but it appears to be a very effective one. After backcombing a section she then crochets the hair, creating a tight, knotty strand. Because they’re so tight, they’re very small. A lot smaller than they will be. After my first wash they’re supposed to start looking more like dreadlocks. My baby dreads are in a growing out thick bangs, chubby eleven year old boy before puberty awkward stage.

(I’ll make a post dedicated to dreadlocks but before that: no, my hair is not dirty. Yes, I wash my dreadlocks. No, I’m not a dirty hippie. Yes, I’m happy with them. No, I’m not getting rid of them anytime soon. Yes, they can get mildew. But really, only when you’re trying to. No, they won’t be infested by bugs. It’s just as likely to happen to your hair as it is mine. Yes, I know you don’t like them. I don’t care. I don’t go around insulting people’s hairstyles so lay off mine.)

When we arrived at the Roseland Theater a line had formed around the building. There was so much craziness that a drag queen asked us what was going on. Nico Vega was energetic. Atlas Genius was fun and IMAGINE DRAGONS WERE IMAGINE DRAGONS. Amazing. Not much is worth standing up for four hours straight but Imagine Dragons was, absolutely, completely.

2 comments

Leave a comment